Derek R. Johnson Award

FOP’s “Officer of the Year”

Sgt. Derek Johnson was shot and killed in the Line of Duty on September 1, 2013. Derek was a board member of Draper FOP Lodge #18. After his death, his father described him as a “hardcore FOP guy” and how he loved the profession.

The FOP’s “Derek R. Johnson Award” will be presented as the FOP’s Officer of the Year, when warranted. This award will go to the FOP member in the state that exemplifies the characteristics of what Derek brought to the profession and to the FOP.

Award recipients will be honored at the FOP’s annual Hero Awards Ceremonies as part of the month lead up to Police Week in May of each year. This years awards were presented at the 2nd Annual Police Ball, held on May 7, 2016. The DRJ Award was presented by Shante Johnson, Derek's widow.

Recipients of the Derek R. Johnson Award:
2014 - Derek R. Johnson - Draper Lodge #18
2015 - Ian Adams - West Jordan Lodge #8
2016 - Isaac Pace - SL County Lodge #2
2017 - Rebecca Stone, Lodge #32

FOP Lodge President of the Year:
2015 - Danny Driggs - Weber Lodge #1
2016 - John Manzer - Dixie Lodge #35
2017 - Brandon Turner, Lodge #8

FOP Chief of the Year:
2015 - Greg Butler - Woods Cross PD - Davis Lodge #6
2016 - Wayne Hansen - Farmington PD - Davis Lodge #6
2017 - Paul Child, Lodge #6

FOP Sheriff of the Year:
2016 - Justin Martinez - Summit County - Summit Lodge #20
2017 - Jim Tracy, Lodge #31

Stay Connected!
UtahFOP logo2 60Get all the Latest news and event updates for the Utah FOP delivered right to your inbox!